Best fish pie – ever

We had friends around on Saturday night for dinner so I made my favourite dish, fish pie. I’ve made lots of fish pies over the years, but this one is stand-out best.

Warning though, it’s a for-guests type recipe only. I reckon it’s too much work for a family meal, and a little expensive too. But if you’re having someone around, then it’s perfect.  I wish I could lay claim to the recipe, but nope; this is Gordon Ramsay’s creation from his book/series  ‘The F Word.”

 

POSH FISH PIE (serves 4 or 5)

IMG_1518

 

Heat 25 g butter and cook 4 chopped shallots and 1/2 a finely chopped fennel bulb until soft. Add 1 cup dry white wine and 1 cup vermouth and reduce by half. Add 2 cups fish stock and bubble away till reduced by 1/2.

 

IMG_1508

 

 

Pour in 2 cups cream. (I used lite) Boil until reduced to a thickish sauce like consistency. Strain through a sieve, discarding shallots and fennel. Stir in 2 tablespoons whole grain mustard and salt and pepper according to taste. Leave to cool.

IMG_1515

 

Heat oven 180 degrees Celsius/gas 4. Cut 800 g of white fish fillets (I used snapper) into chunks. Poach the fish in just enough water to cover, along with a squeeze of lemon juice and a few sprigs of Thyme, until slightly undercooked.

IMG_1510

 

Remove fish with a slotted spoon. Gently fold the fish and 200 g raw peeled king prawns into the sauce with a little extra lemon juice and a handful of mixed herbs.

IMG_1517

Make mashed potatoes. You’ll need about 5 potatoes for this recipe. Obviously, the mash gets spooned or piped on top.Ramsay puts it in one big pie dish but I used individual dishes because I like individual pies. Bake for 20 minutes until golden on top.

 

IMG_1521

My friends loving their fish pie

 

IMG_1524

…and lots of drinks later

We had a lot of fun; I have a mother of a hang-over to prove it.

6 thoughts on “Best fish pie – ever

  1. Thanks for the recipe, it sounds delicious – I’m always searching for a tried and true dish for guests – I’ll let you know how it works for me.

    You certainly look as if you are all enjoying yourselves – but it’s always that last half glass that does the damage. Hope you ar now feeling better.

Leave a Reply

