Amazon.com sales rankings…

I drove myself crazy this week. Suddenly, out of nowhere, I became obsessed with my ebook sales figures. And the crazy thing is, I’ve never cared about the money. Writing has never been about earning, not for me. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to write books and be a published author. I finally get what I wanted a week and a half ago, and what happened? I went and moved the goal posts.  Suddenly, I wanted to be an author that sold books.

Image from Wombatarama, Flickr creative commons

Image from Wombatarama, Flickr creative commons

 

For most of the week, I obsessed about my Amazon sales ranking, as if that was now the new measure of my success. Those rankings go up and down in silly amounts and never stay put, or more accurately, never stay where I want them to be. I even got to the point of taking screen shots, as if I could freeze the figure in time. Those wretched bouncing figures woke me up at night.

Image courtesy of Andrew Braithwaite, flickr

Image courtesy of Andrew Braithwaite, Flickr

 

Then I worked Amazon out. This is what I came up with:

1) Those rankings do not take into account international sales (i.e. sales from Australia). The figures show American sales only. They also do not include sales from other places/devises such as Kobo.

2) The rankings change every hour.

3) The figures are not cost sensitive. Famous authors ebooks selling for $10.00 each often  rank lower than cheap ebooks selling well for .99 cents. In reality, the famous author is the one making more money.

4) Spending time obsessing about figures is counter productive. Instead, focus on book two and write it well.

 

Now that I’ve worked all that out, I’m happy again. What a relief!

 

Image of Socs chasing and being chased by emu, courtesy of David Clarke, Flickr

Image of Socs chasing and being chased by emu, courtesy of David Clarke, Flickr

This picture has nothing to do with anything. I know dogs like to chase and catch birds but Socs might need to re-think this one.

 

2 thoughts on “Amazon.com sales rankings…

  1. What a logical person you are – can I take my hat off to you. Even though I am not a writer myself I can imagine how easy it would be to fall into judging one’s success by sales figures instead of see that just the fact of getting published was a great success in itself, which a very limited few ever achieve.

    Enjoy your achievement but the next book is just waiting to be written.

Leave a Reply

