Book Release Week – I’m wrung out!

It finally happened. My book was released on Wednesday night and what a roller-coaster week it’s been so far.

A big thank you to everyone who has reviewed The Outcasts. I have six shiny new reviews on Amazon.com so far.

 

Image via Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of Winston Wong

Image via Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of Winston Wong

 

The best part of my week since release,  was Friday night (Aussie time). My e book dropped from $3.74 American, to $2.99 American. After the price slash, I got a rush of sales. For a while, I was ranked 92nd in the Native American category. I took a screen shot to prove I was telling the truth. The Outcasts made it into the top 100 best sellers list in one category. Wow!

 

amazon1

amazon2

There I am, the big man with the green background sitting at number 92 in the best sellers list.

My hubby rushed out and bought two bottles of nice champagne, and we sat down together, celebrated and got ourselves hang-overs.

2945213105_9be0ea4312_b

Image via Flickr Creative Commons, courtesy of  Bucky Schwarz

But all good things come to an end. By Saturday morning, the price was back up and my wonderful ranking was gone. Never mind, it happened. Us writers are grateful for the smallest of rewards.

Image courtesy of Zuhair A Al Traifi, Flickr creative commons

Image courtesy of Zuhair A Al Traifi, Flickr creative commons

A friend of mine living in America was surprised to hear of the $3.74 e-book price tag. I’m told that in America, all Soul Mate Publishing books are priced at $2.99 (that’s not on sale). The difference is nothing to do with exchange rates. Those exchange rates factor in later, on the credit card. In Australia we pay much more for stuff we buy on the internet. It’s something to do with protecting our shop keepers. I guess if everything was too cheap on the net, then Australian shops would go out of business.

Courtesy of Ian Burt, Flickr Creative Commons

Courtesy of Ian Burt, Flickr Creative Commons

Someone told me once that it is cheaper to fly to America to buy the Photoshop suite of programs  (about 5 programs in all) than order the suite on the net from Aussie. Luckily, I don’t need the suite. I wouldn’t have a clue how to use those programs anyway.

I have almost 3 days left to go before release week is over. What else could possibly happen?

Thank you Joanne Guidoccio and Cathy MacRae. I enjoyed being on your blogs this week. I’m looking forward to being on Anne B Cole’s blog this coming Wednesday.

6 thoughts on “Book Release Week – I’m wrung out!

  1. Congratulations Elizabeth, I can imagine how exciting it must have been for you to make the top 100 in your category, even if it was only for a short time.

    I do understand what a hard slog is it for you writers to to get something published but I guess perseverance wins out in the end and we readers reap the rewards of your hard work. Well done and I hope the hang-over didn’t last too long.

  2. I enjoyed this post because I’m ramping up for my release next week. Congrats on that ranking and screen shot! That’s awesome. I must learn how to get a screen shot just in case… Happy for you!

Leave a Reply

